The Six Days by Anna Carolyn McCormally

  

I got this book for review from Big Squid Books. I am so sorry for taking such a long time to write a review!!

General summary from Goodreads: “You have six days from midnight until the Gate closes again. Bring me what I need by then and maybe you’ll get your brother back.”

Fifteen years ago, in the middle of the night, Jamie Carpenter’s mother went up to the dark lighthouse on the cliffs. She never came back.

Jamie has spent his whole life trying to forget his mother. But when his little brother goes missing, Jamie has to face the facts. There is another world through the lighthouse, the world of his mother, a powerful witch. And the dangerous magical inheritance she left her sons is now the ransom for Danny’s life in a war between the Council of Witches and the rebel group Jamie’s mother abandoned her family to lead.

Desperate to save Danny, Jamie and his best friend Nia cross into a universe they never knew existed. Struggling to survive in a world of shadowy magic ravaged by war, Jamie and Nia seek the help of the Council. But the Council’s leaders aren’t too happy that the son of the witches’ most infamous traitor has returned to Emanu…

With no help, no idea where to look, and no magic on their side, Jamie and Nia have to learn fast if they’re going to survive Emanu and rescue Danny. Because there are only six days until the gate between worlds closes again.

Plot: A- 

This book had an original and enjoyable plot, but I did feel like it was slightly forced at times. 

Characters: A

I really liked the well-developed characters in this book, especially Nia. 

Dialogue: A

I was honestly quite impressed with the dialogue in this book. I’ve read many fantasy books with similar-ish premises, and they often have juvenile and unrealistic dialogue. This one was quite enjoyable. 

Worldbuilding: B

As with the plot, I thought it was a little bit forced. It was clearly laid out and creative, but I do feel like it was kind of pushed into my face. 

Writing Style: B+

I liked the writing style overall, but I think it didn’t completely mesh with the plot. I can only describe it as descriptive with an almost pensive tone. I would have liked something a little plainer, but that’s just me. 

Engagement: B+

I was mostly engaged, but I did find myself distracted from time to time. This was probably my fault, though. 
Overall: A-/B+

I found this book enjoyable. I especially recommend it to fans of the YA Fantasy genre. 

Leave a Reply

