The Under-appreciated Parts of Books (#1)

I thought I’d do a small series of posts on different parts of books that nobody really pays attention to. I don’t know how many of these I will do or if they are even interesting to you, but I think they’re pretty cool. I’m going to start with the colophon, which is that page of technical and legal stuff about the book found near the beginning.

IMG_2189

This one is from the Barnes and Nobles collectors’ edition of The Arabian Nights. This one doesn’t have a ton of information on it, but I thought I’d show it anyway to prove that even super fancy nice books have colophons too.

IMG_2190

This is from a Cassandra Clare book. This one is more interesting, as I noticed that her name is spelled differently on the colophon than on the front cover and on the internet. Also, it has a summary of the book on it, perfectly concise and accurate. Also, it has a list of the genres it belongs to on the bottom, which I also thought was cool.

IMG_2193

This actually came from my AP World History textbook. It contains a dedication, which I thought was kind of weird, as that’s usually a separate page. I included this to show that almost every type of book contains one.

IMG_2191

This is from the Song of Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin. I have the mass-market paperback editions, and I thought it was cool how much info they fit onto one tiny page. Also, the legal warnings on here are pretty interesting to read. The colophon even references itself, citing its designer.

IMG_2192

Here is the colophon of a non-fiction book about the periodic table of elements. It’s concise and contains most of the same info as the others.

Those were just a few examples of colophons from a range of books. I really hope that my interest in them isn’t offputting. I really feel like they say a lot about a book, even if I don’t understand a lot of the legal jargon on them. Tell me what you think of them, and make sure to let me know of your favorite (and unappreciated) aspects of books.

One Reply to “The Under-appreciated Parts of Books (#1)”

  1. This is a great idea for a blogging series! I’ll definitely keep my eye out for part two 😀 I actually sometimes pay attention to the page that has the publication year; for some reason it fascinates me. I was wondering if anyone else had noticed that Cassandra Clare’s name was spelled differently there! I wonder why…

Leave a Reply

