My Thoughts on Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Hello and happy February! I just finished this book, and I can definitely see why there is a ton of hype around it. I got this when it was free on iBooks and the Kindle Store, which was really great, because I was too skeptical of this book to spend actual money on. I do intend to continue on with the series at some point, but it’s definitely not an immediate priority.

While some people compare this book to Twilight, I disagree completely. Twilight has vampire and werewolves in a love triangle with a spineless and one-dimensional female protagonist, which was why I was so reluctant to start this series. However, I felt that the author did an admirable job defying these tropes by using an intelligent and mostly sensible protagonist and (so far) excluding a cheesy love triangle. Katy (the main character) is a book blogger who posts reviews and freaks out over new releases, which was a really fun thing to read about, since I can totally relate. I also really enjoyed the dialogue in this book, particularly the snarkiness and sass between Katy and Daemon.

My only main problem was with the male members of the alien group, especially Daemon. They were super controlling and stubborn to the point where it was annoying and unproductive. I disliked how they were always the ones to fight, because they felt it was their duty to protect the delicate females. I thought Dee was a super strong and awesome character, and I really wish she would have had more of a role in the fighting.

I really hate the cover, though. Look at it. The bind-up edition on the left is slightly more appealing to me due to the sparkles and the fact that it’s two boos in one, but I still dislike both covers. The one on the right, which is the original cover, is just the cheesiest thing; it looks like a trashy romance.

925652_335903399920480_178404985_n Obsidian_cover1600

This book, as I said, was overall a fun and quick read. I give it 3.5 stars.

4 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

