Black Friday Book Haul!!

Hi, people!! As promised, I have a large book haul today. My order from BookOutlet finally arrived, and it was totally worth the wait. I have a huge collection of books, and I am not ashamed.

IMG_1723.JPG

First of all, I did not buy this first book. This is an ARC, and I have just started reading it. It’s a middle grade book, and other than that I don’t know that much about it. It’s part historical fiction, but I think there is some that takes place in the present. Also, magical realism.

IMG_1722.JPG

I remember trying to read this a few years ago, and I couldn’t get into it. When I saw them on BookOutlet, I just randomly decided to give them a try again. I’m happy about this purchase, but I got them in regular hardcover and library binding, so only one of them has a dust jacket. Oh well, they were like $3.

IMG_1720.JPG

I’ve heard really good things about this book, and Brandon Sanderson in general. I would have got the Mistborn series, but the American covers are so ugly, so I’m waiting to find the really pretty version. Anyway, this book is either YA or middle grade, and it has a steampunkish vibe from what I can see. I haven’t really read the synopsis on any of these books because I want to go into them blind, so sorry about that.

IMG_1721.JPG

I got the second two books in this series, but I don’t have the first one yet. I will read them as soon as I do, because I am so excited to read these books! I don’t remember ever reading a series about time travel. Seriously. I would love any other recommendations.
IMG_1717.JPG
I’ve also never read a book about kidnapping, so this will be interesting. I’ve heard that this boo is quite controversial, and I’m interested in seeing what  I think of it. Have any of you read this? I would really like to know your thoughts.
IMG_1718.JPG
I’ve already read this book, but I didn’t have a copy of my own, and I really really needed one. The second book is coming out soon, and also, it’s just really pretty.
IMG_1716.JPG
I have absolutely no idea what this is about, but I remember someone recommending it to me. Yeah, most of the books I got were impulse purchases, but they make my bookshelf look really pretty!
IMG_1719.JPG
I’ve heard some vague but good things about Kelly Armstrong, and I liked the cover of this. I really wish that the red vortex thing on the cover was embossed, though, I was expecting it to be a little nicer. I can’t really complain, though.
IMG_1712.JPG
This book, a brand new hardcover with good reviews, was less than a dollar. Why wouldn’t I buy it?? I think this is science fiction, but I’m not entirely sure.
IMG_1714.JPG
I absolutely love this cover! I have had my eye on this book for some time now, and the sale was a great excuse to buy it! I will read it soon, hopefully.
IMG_1715.JPG
I really liked Confessions of  a Teenage Amnesiac, which is Gabrielle Zevin’s other book. I read it this summer. Anyway, I just thought I’d give one of her other books a try, and it was pretty cheap.
IMG_1713.JPG
I got the first book in this series at the beginning of this summer, so I decided to buy the second one. I have no idea how many books there are in this series, so I have no future plans to obtain any more of this series. Their covers match, which is always great, but they don’t appeal to me that much. The comic sans-esque font is kind of worrying.
IMG_1710.JPG
This is an unopened trilogy that I got for under $5, so I have little to no regret. Once again, I really don’t know what this is about, but I want more completed series on my shelf.
IMG_1708.JPG
I have wanted this book for such a long time! I have heard only great things, and I am so excited to finally have it!!
IMG_1711.JPG
I have wanted to read Kiersten White’s books for some time, and a short duology seemed like the perfect place to start!
IMG_1709.JPG
This book looks like it’s really suspenseful and/or dark. I really like creepy and dark books, so I hope this book meets my expectations.
IMG_1704.JPG
I was really happy to find out that this is actually an autographed copy!! I paid the price for a discount paperback and ended up with this, which was really nice. This also looks like a steampunk type of book as well.

IMG_1707.JPG
I ordered the second and third books  in the Luxe series (I already own the first one), and they accidentally sent me two copies of Envy!! I gave the second copy to one of my friends as part of her holiday present, and we are going to try to read the series.
IMG_1703.JPG
I have always liked Shannon Hale’s writing, and also this cover is cool! And its blurb is written by Scott Westerfeld, so that’s also really promising!
IMG_1702.JPG
I don’t know. I have always really wanted to read this series! I’m disappointed that BookOutlet didn’t have the hardcover of the second book, so I think I will probably try to buy the hardcover if I see it anywhere for a decent price.

That concludes my long haul!! Thanks for having the patience to read this rather long post. If you have any recommendations, requests for reviews, general comments, or you want to tell me what you thought of any of these books, please comment! I really appreciate it. See you soon, hopefully! Today was my last day of finals and I have two weeks off of school. Happy holidays!!

2 Replies to “Black Friday Book Haul!!”

  1. I made a wishlist at book outlet, but I behaved myself and didn’t buy them. The Rithmatist and Winner’s Curse were on my list too! Warm Bodies was gone by the time I got there, I hope it’s as funny as it sounds. I’m interested to hear what you think about the Girl Who Fairytale books. Congrats on all of the new pretties! 🙂

  2. I bought a ton of books from book outlet on black Friday. I’m jealous that you received girl who circumnavigated fairyland because I bought that too, but when my order actually shipped they were out. Warm bodies is pretty good by the way :]

Leave a Reply

