Birthday Book Haul

Hello! As you may know, my birthday was on the first of October! I got some books. They’re mostly just fun and easy looking reads, as I’m too tired to read anything really dense.

IMG_1167.JPG

I absolutely love this cover, and I really wanted a scifi read. I am currently reading this with one of my friends and discussing it. I really love Tarver, the male protagonist. He is really sassy. This book also provides a surprising amount of atmosphere.

IMG_1168.JPG

I don’t know a ton about this book, but I want to start reading Morgan Matson’s books, and it seems like a fun and quick read.

IMG_1169.JPG

I’ve heard so much about what a beautiful book this is, and I really need to read it. If you’ve read it, what did you think? No spoilers, please!

IMG_1170.JPG

It’s a short story anthology. Compiled by Neil Gaiman. He has one or two of his own stories in it. Buying it supports literacy foundations. Why would I not buy it?

IMG_1172-0.JPG

IMG_1173-0.JPG

IMG_1171-0.JPG

This is a box set of two parallel graphic novels taking place in historical China. I saw this at the Los Angeles Times Book Festival where it won an award. I think. It beat Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, so it really has to be good.

IMG_1174.JPG

I’ve already read this book, but I just had to own my own physical copy.

IMG_1175.JPG

I just finished reading it, and I felt too many emotions. It’s really fast and easy, but it really impacted me.

IMG_1176.JPG

I’ve heard some people say they loved this and other meh reviews, but I want to see for myself. This book has an interesting concept, and I also really liked the cover.

IMG_1178.JPG

I’m really mad at the publisher for making the books two different sizes, especially when they’re part of the same series!! But yeah, I thought it was time to read an Ellen Hopkins book.

IMG_1179.JPG

I got this from Selina, The Bibliofiles so thanks for that. I really like Jared Diamond’s anthropological studies

Those were my birthday books! I am really excited to read them all. Please tell me which ones you want me to review, and I will gladly do so.

9 thoughts on “Birthday Book Haul

  1. I’m really into fun easy reads right now. These Broken stars looks good. I love sassy characters. I love short stories, but I’m picky about them so a collection compiled by Gaiman sounds perfect. I’ve heard the same mixed things about Kiss of Deception. I hope you like it. I hate it when they change the sizes of the books mid series. (Dresden files) Now the only question is, what are you going to read next?

  2. I’ve read Impulse, and Perfect both rather good and that’s coming from someone who doesn’t like Ellen Hopkins stories as they’re a bit unoriginal over time. And by the way, it’s Todd! Toddmedicii.wordpress.com is my new blog!

      • It’s all about sex, drugs, suicide just different names and slightly different plots. What also is confusing is they unnamed sequel, in which one character is re-introduced in one book and in another book another character is re-introduced and when the first time we met the character’s it’s in one book. It’s slightly more interesting but confusing. Nonetheless, not much of a fan. But don’t let that stop you.

  3. I didn’t see it AND IT’S KIND OF A FUNNY STORY IS MY FAVORITE CONTEMPORARY I CRIED WHEN THE AUTHOR COMMITTED SUICIDE BUT I THINK YOU’LL LOVE IT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

