Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix Review

Hey! I feel like it’s been forever since I posted! There are so many reasons, mainly school. As soon as school starts, I kind of get into a nine-month reading slump because I’m too tired to read, and it’s really bad. Sorry about not posting a TBR, but I kind of want to do whatever this month, and I’m sure you’ve seen enough TBR posts on your reader anyway.

I got a finished copy of this book, which comes out September 23rd, so I thought I should probably read and review it before it comes out. I’m really glad I did, too! Be prepared for a super long review; I have so much I wanna say.

IMG_0827.JPG

IMG_0828.JPG

The first thing you need to know about this book is that it is written in the form of a furniture catalog for a company called Orsk, basically a fictional Ikea knockoff. When I heard about this book, I was intrigued as to how the book was executed, so I assume you probably are too. It takes place inside the store, where there have been several cases of vandalism in the store, so the manager, Basil, asks employees Amy and Ruth Anne to stay behind with him overnight to try to catch the intruder. All of the ghost stuff happens throughout the night, and it’s super creepy and gory.

Sorry for the disorganization of this post, but my thoughts are out of order. Anyway, I really just want to focus on the design of the book. Here are pictures of the inside cover and end pages:

IMG_0829.JPG

IMG_0830.JPG

IMG_0831.JPG

It seriously looks authentic! Also, each chapter starts out with a picture of a piece of furniture and a description of it. The pieces actually loosely correspond to the occurrences in the chapter. It actually took me like half the book to realize it, but it totally does! The first chapter starts out when the workers notice a poo-like substance on one of the sofas in the display area. Here is the chapter title page:

IMG_0832.JPG

As the story intensifies, the furniture gets less harmless and more creepy. The ghosts actually use these items to torture the employees, but that’s too spoilers for me to really get into. Here is a sample of one of the chapter title pages closer to the middle:

IMG_0833.JPG

There is another map in the back that corresponds to the front map and explains where each obstacle in each chapter was in the store. Does that make sense? Probably not, but I think you’ll understand if you read the book. It took a while for me to fully understand how each of the end pages and everything actually connected, but when I did, I literally shouted and started pacing. It was kind of weird.

I had a bunch of ratings and everything, but they somehow got deleted, and I really don’t want to redo them, so I give this book an A/A- overall. It had a really nice and compelling style, and some of the dialogue was great. Although it was pretty predictable, its creative premise made it so worth it.

7 Replies to “Horrorstör by Grady Hendrix Review”

  1. Yeah, it’s hard keeping up with a blog with everything else going on. I’m sorry to hear some of your post got deleted.This sounds like the strangest book! Who comes up with these things? The torture element makes me a bit uneasy about reading it, but I enjoyed your review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

