August Wrap-Up

These are the books I actually ended up reading! I think I was able to stick to my TBR decently, which is nice and quite unexpected. I totally went in a different direction with my reading this month, though. There aren’t too many books because I had an audition for orchestra seating, so I spent much of my time practicing for it and freaking out.

IMG_0767.JPG
I received an ARC of this book. I requested it a while ago, and if finally arrived in the mail! I really enjoyed this book. It was such a cute story, and it was about friendship rather than romance, which made it even better. Yeah, I know. This is another cancer story, but it’s about friendship and takes place in Australia. I think this story takes a more candid approach on the whole disease thing, as the two characters are clearly miserable and bored.

IMG_0768.JPG
I’m pretty sure everyone has at least heard of the Mortal Instruments series. If you haven’t, that’s weird. Anyway, I am marathonning the series along with the Infernal Devices. This brings me to the next book. Can you guess what it is? I bet you can….

IMG_0769-0.JPG
Wow! What a surprise. I’ve already read this trilogy, but I need to refresh myself. It’s been a while, and I am reading the Mortal Instruments for the first time. There is much discussion about the order in which the books should be read, and it seems the most popular approach is to read them in the order they were published, putting the trilogy in halfway through the Mortal Instruments. I personally think reading all of the Infernal Devices beforehand is the best method, as it gives so much more insight. Also, Church the cat appears in the Mortal Instruments, and you won’t care if you haven’t read the Infernal Devices. I hope this paragraph made sense. Anyway. Thoughts on the order of reading these books? I would love your opinion.

IMG_0794.JPG
I’m about halfway done with this book, and I already cried several times. This book gives me so many feels! I’m really mad, though, because I got spoiled. I went on goodreads to add it to my shelf, and someone didn’t hide their spoiler. I was so mad, because it was a huge spoiler that completely ruined the ending for me!

IMG_0795.JPG
I got an ARC of this book, which I am currently reading, and it’s really interesting! It’s written by the founder of okcupid, and it’s a bunch of data about human behavior and sociology based on the internet. It cites specific examples and includes lots of really cool graphs.

IMG_0796.JPG
I got this from NetGalley, and I really liked it! I’m excited for the next book in the series! It was really fun and had a good plot. I thought it was an excellent piece of middle grade fiction.

Those were the books I read this month! Tell me if you’ve read any of these or of you’d like to. I will post my TBR for September soon, hopefully.

Happy reading!

8 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up

  1. I really want to read The Iron Trial! But I think you should also mention that Zac and Mia was published before TFiOS, if that might be a reason that would dissuade readers of it, like me. 🙂

  2. It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini is absolutely one of my favorite contemporaries, as it is extremely relatable. I was extremely saddened, and I cried, of his pasting last December. I’m getting chills now. I am definitely going to visit his grave.. this man helped me so much through his writing and I want him to know that.

Leave a Reply

