A Tale For the Time Being Buddy Read

Hey! So due to technical difficulties with scheduling, collaboration, and laziness, I have decided to make my read along somewhat unconventional. I haven’t seen Selina post anything about the book recently, so I am loosening the guidelines. I have read to the halfway point of the book, so I thought it was time for an update.

I have recorded my favorite quotes so far, and here they are.

“Are you a male or a female or somewhere in between?.”

“It made me sad when I caught myself pretending that everybody out there in cyberspace cared what I thought, when really nobody gives a shit. And when I multiply that sad feeling by all the millions of people in their lonely little rooms, furiously writing and posting to their lonely little Pages that nobody has time to read because they’re all so busy writing and posting, it kind of broke my heart.”

“Throughout history, Japanese have always appreciated suicide. For us it is a beautiful thing that gives meaning and shape and honor to our lives forever. It is a method to make out feeling of alive most real.”

“Basically,
where you go to high school affects where you’ll go to university,
which decides what company you’ll work for,
which decides how much money you’ll make,
which decides who you’ll marry,
which decides what kinds of kids you’ll have and how you raise them,
and where you’ll live and die,
and whether your kids have enough money to give you a classy funeral,
which decides whether you will become a hungry and vengeful ghost.”

I will have one or two more updates for this buddy read.

Happy reading,
Mariel

2 thoughts on “A Tale For the Time Being Buddy Read

Leave a Reply

