The Seven Deadly Sins Tag

Hello! So I’ve seen this tag everywhere. I think it started with Booktubers, but many blogs have picked it up in the last couple weeks, and now it’s my turn to join the masses!

Greed

s-008Most Expensive Book owned

I think it’s a tie between a graphic novel called Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life  by Ulli Lust and by JJ Abrams and Doug Dorst. I Got S from Amazon for $35. This price is actually reasonable for the book due to the exceptional concept and production of this book. Click here to read more about it.

 

20140620-234307-85387867.jpg

Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life is a really thick book featuring beautiful hand- drawn art, so I can also understand the pricing. I got this from a really cool used book store for $35. It also won the award for best new graphic novel at the Los Angeles Times Festival of Books, which is exciting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cheapest book ownedimgres-2

 

I got this book from Book Outlet for a really good price. I think it was $1.49 or something like that. I thought it was a great deal for a new book in perfect condition. I read this while I was in Japan and really enjoyed it, although I would have liked a more conclusive ending.

 

 

 

Wrath

With which author do you have a love/hate relationship?

This is a really tough question! In general, I either like or dislike an author, not both. I’m gonna go with J.K. Rowling or maybe George R.R. Martin because death.

Gluttony

Which books have you shamelessly devoured many times?


imagesMy childhood! I love going back and rereading old books, especially these three series.  A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket was really the first set of books I read with a sarcastic tone. They also somehow managed to be slightly educational, but they were so outrageous. I really want to read more of Daniel Handler (Lemony Snicket was a pseudonym) really soon.

 

imgres-3

 

 

I think I’ve mentioned this series once already, but it always makes me really happy. It also taught me that everyone is different, and all personalities and talents are useful in different ways. Who wouldn’t want to read about kids accepting each other and their differences and then working together to save the world? It also covers issues of morality and ethics and stuff.

 

 

 

images-1

This last one is pretty obvious. I love this series, and binge reading it is always a good thing to do. I think I’m alone in this, but I always love to reread the first one the most. It’s Harry at his happiest, and I like to remember the beginning of the magic. HARRY POTTER IS BEAUTIFUL. Although Harry is my least favorite character.

 

 

Sloth

What book/series have you neglected out of laziness?

songboxset

 

I’ve only read the first two. This series is really brilliant, but the books are just so long, and I keep forgetting the characters and stuff. It’s really hard to keep track of all of the minor characters and their mindblowingly elaborate backstories, even while using A Wiki of Ice and Fire, which is a really valuable source for those who are also struggling with this series.

 

 

 

Pride

What books do you bring up when you want to sound like an intellectual reader?

I normally talk about classics or contemporary award-winning literature. I mention authors like Gabriel Garcia Marquez and F. Scott Fitzgerald and Charles Dickens. Ooh, and Victor Hugo. Mentioning famous poets and quoting their work also helps. I generally only do this while talking to my English teachers, and I always try to read the heavier stuff at school and save the YA for at home so they get a good impression.

 

Lust

Attractive male character attributes

The best male characters are not cliche. That is most of what I look for in a male character. Do not write about the nice clean guy and the tall dark mysterious one and make them compete for the same girl. I will throw those books across the room. My favorite characters are funny, sensitive, and not girl-obsessed. Don’t give me anymore dangerous broken personas or demeanors of stone.

Attractive female attributes

I want more complexity. I want to really legitimately see female characters grow as people rather than leech off of a boyfriend’s power. Many of the female characters I have read about really just need to get over themselves and focus on the problem at hand. This applies to movies as well. WHO HAS TIME TO MAKE OUT WITH SOMEONE AS THE WORLD ENDS!?

 

Envy

What books would you most want to receive as  a gift?

This. I already own the series, but all my books are falling apart and are in different formats. I would feel guilty buying it for myself, but if a friend gives it to me, then there’s no reason to shame myself.

The other thing I would love to get is a set of the Barnes and Noble collectors editions. They’re magnificent and majestic, but most of the books are already public domain, so I wouldn’t really spend that much money on them. I own three so far, though.

 

imgres-4

imgres

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That was my Seven Deadly Sins Tag! I realize I did rant a little, but it was necessary. I’d love to see your answers to these questions, so if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged. 

13 thoughts on “The Seven Deadly Sins Tag

  1. This is such a cool tag! I’ll definitely have to do it sometime soon! 🙂
    I loved the Mysterious Benedict Society when I was younger too! That’s so crazy, because I’ve never even heard anyone else mention that series!!

    • It was fun to do this tag! You really have to do it. The Mysterious Benedict Society is amazing! I have the trilogy, prequel, and companion. I’m so sad you’ve never heard anyone talk about them; you and I can force people to read it together 🙂

  2. I love this tag, too–I’m definitely going to try it! A Series of Unfortunate Events & Mysterious Benedict Society were two of my all-time favorites as a kid! I’m so happy you brought them up because I always feel like they’re under-appreciated. And I so agree with your Envy books–those Barnes & Noble books are too beautiful, and who doesn’t need more copies of Harry Potter?

    • You should definitely participate in it! And you don’t have to awkwardly say you weren’t tagged by anyone! That’s always a relief. So many of my childhood books other than Harry Potter are unheard of in the online book community, and it really makes me sad. And yeah I love getting gorgeous books as gifts it’s great 🙂

  3. Great tag! And it’s always fun to see other people’s book collections and desires. Those Barnes & Noble HP’s look fabulous! Hmm…I may take you up on the ‘consider yourself tagged’ offer… 🙂

  4. I did this tag last week and found it really fun. 🙂

    S sounds like an interesting book. I know what you mean, my Harry Potters have been well loved.

    A Storm of Swords is the best book of the series! I always reread them all when a new one comes out, otherwise I struggle with all of the characters too.

Leave a Reply

