Liebster Award!

Yay! I’m really happy to be nominated for this award! Thank you to Erin @ Raised a Reader

The rules are as follows:

1. Post 11 facts about yourself
2. Answer the 11 questions that the person who nominated you posts.
3. Choose 11 blogs with less than 200 followers for the award.

I am going to go in order, starting with the facts. Since I’ve already given some facts for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award, I’m gonna copy the first ones and add a few more.

1. I play the violin. I’m also trying to learn the piano, even though I played piano before I started violin.

2. I’m super impatient. If I know books are coming in the mail, I will obsessively track its location online and check my mailbox multiple times a day.

3. I obsess over everything. I’m usually somewhat of a perfectionist, so I stress over tiny details. And cover changes of books midway through a series. *AHEM ACROSS THE UNIVERSE BY BETH REVIS AHEM* I obsess over books and TV shows. All the time. It can get pretty stalkerish. I took creepy pictures of John Green at the Los Angeles Times Book Festival from above.

4. According to my parents, I was so determined to learn how to walk when I was a baby that I practiced for hours a day.

5. Even at an early age, I loved reading. When I didn’t know how to read I pretended I did and made up a language of gibberish as i ” read” out loud.

6. I used to be very outgoing g and extroverted, but now I have a hard time holding a conversation with people I don’t know well. I think my awkwardness and nerdiness gets in the way.

7. I really enjoy randomly over-analyzing things and twisting their words subtly. I get into some really ridiculous arguments as a result.

8. On my original Very Inspiring Blogger post, I accidentally typed “needy” instead of “nerdy” and I’m really embarrassed now. A lot of you saw that, and I’m sorry.

9. I have a twin brother. I am female. WE ARE OBVIOUSLY NOT IDENTICAL! I get that question all the time and just…sigh…

10. Since I transferred to a specialized school, people at my school complain that I’m over competitive. They have no idea what my old school was like. I was about average there, but now people judge me and scold me for wanting perfect grades. It’s quite frustrating.

11. I can be quite sarcastic. I love writing subtle satirical tidbits and incorporating them into various school assignments. Some of my teachers are quite oblivious to these incorporations, and it’s sometimes the only way I survive a class.

Question Answering time!

Why did you start blogging?

I’ve been on goodreads for a while and recently started reading other blogs and watching booktubers, and it just seemed like something I really wanted to do. I also wanted to improve my writing and get all kinds of feedback from people.

Where did you get your blog name?

When I knew I wanted to start a blog, I immediately started trying to think of names. I thought for a long time and eventually just tried to think of different puns/fandoms that I could relate to books. I was watching Stark Trek, and I thought it would be a good name, since books are kind of infinite. It’s one of the only aspects of our society that can go on forever, but it’s grossly unexplored.

What’s your favorite of your own blog posts?

Well I only have a few, so… Not really sure. Sorry. It would be helpful if I could get some feedback on what you’ve liked and disliked on my blog so far!

How do you find new blogs to follow?

I search through the site with tags like books, book review, YA, etc.

Would you ever stop following a blog? Why?

I would, but that is very rare. I only do it if I don’t find their content interesting. There are just some blogs that post really frequently about things I don’t really care about.

What is your opinion on commenting on blog posts?

I love commenting and people who comment on mine. This community is just super friendly, and I often follow people who comment or follow my blog. I get super excited when someone comments on my posts and reply as soon as I can.

Name a blogger whose opinions you value and explain why.

I very much value any and every blog I have followed. I carefully consider the reviews of others and decide for myself whether I want to read the book reviewed.

Name one author you will always read.

JK Rowling. Always. (Anyone get the reference??)

If you could only recommend one book for another to read, what would it be and why?

It honestly depends on the person. If I chose just one book, I would be lying. Sorry. You may already know of my devotion to Harry Potter, so I guess there’s that.

What is your most anticipated read of 2014?

I think it’s probably Landline by Rainbow Rowell. I REALLY WANT THIS BOOK! I don’t think I’m gonna have enough money to buy it when it comes out because I am broke. If you’ve seen my June acquired books, I think you’ll know why. But I will find a way to get that book!

Provide a book recommendation based on your favorite TV shows.

I have several top shows, so I’m gonna recommend several books.

For fans of Once Upon a Time: Read the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. I love fairytale retellings.

Actually, I’m gonna combine several shows together. This is kind of weird, but let me explain. If you like Sherlock, Doctor Who, and Supernatural or shows along those lines, I think you may enjoy The Diviners by Libba Bray. It’s historical, hence the Doctor Who; contains mystery, which is for Sherlock; and it’s filled with occult and weird supernatural stuff like ghosts, which satisfies the Supernatural aspect of it. I read this book quite recently, which is probably why I thought of it.

Nomination Time!

I’m honestly struggling to find people to nominate. Time to look though my reader/dashboard thing!

Lily @ Words We Heart

Hazy @ The Undercover Bookworm

Katharine @ the library life

Kris @ The Nerdy Soul

I’m gonna say I’m done now! Sorry, but it’s late and I’m tired. I hope I got everyone’s info right. I also apologize for the lack of pictures.

Happy reading!
Mariel

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award!

  1. I’m a huge fan of Once Upon a Time, but I haven’t been able to read the Lunar Chronicles yet. I really want the series in hardcover, but they’re hardly available in paperback in my country… SOMEDAY.

    • I’m so sorry! Definitely keep an eye out for them. I love retellings, and this is my favorite one! The final book is going to come out at the end of 2015, so I hope you get to read the first ones before then.

Leave a Reply

