Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian

Genre: YA Contemporary

Pages: 358

 

20140627-010753-4073688.jpg

This book is the first book in a trilogy. I kind of think of it as a cross between Mean Girls and Pretty Little Liars. It takes place on the privileged and affluent Jar Island. The story is told from three POVs: Lillia, Kat, and Mary. The three of them are dealing with different kinds of drama, but they all have one thing in common: seeking revenge. The three of them plot out their plans by meeting in secretive places in the super early morning. Lillia is put in a bad place, as all of the trio’s targets are in her group of friends.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story. It kept me engaged and entertained. I was pleasantly surprised by the ending, since I was expecting it to be happy and neatly packaged. Lillia’s moral dilemma made the story so interesting and exciting. I’m pretty sure I gasped several times while reading it.

I don’t have much negative feedback about the book. I was somewhat confused with the characters’ backstories, but I don’t think it really affected the plot. I feel like Mary’s situation could have been better explained, as I couldn’t keep the schools straight.

I finished Burn for Burn relatively quickly. It was an easy and fun read, and I think I will probably continue with the series at some point. I do have a HUGE number of books on my TBR (around 700,) that I will probably not get to, but I may move this series up.

I give this book a(n): A-/B+

Yeah, I can do that. This is my blog, and I’m too lazy to work through my indecision.

Happy reading!
Mariel 🙂

9 Replies to “Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian”

  1. I read this not too long ago, and I had the same general feelings. It was a quick and fun read, but I couldn’t quite give it 5 stars. Mary’s situation does get explained more in the second book, though it eventually went in a strange direction.

    1. The truth had to come out at some point! My huge TBR is the only reason I even come close to 1500 books on Goodreads. There are just so many books! And I only own like 50-100 of the items on my list. It’s pretty scary, though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

