Code Name Verity by Elizabeth E. Wein Review

Genre: Historical YA
Pages: 447

This book is about a British spy plane that crashes in Nazi-occupied France. It contained best friends Kittyhawk and Verity. Those are their code names. Kittyhawk manages to escape, but Verity is not so lucky. She is locked away in prison where interrogators present her with an ultimatum: reveal her mission or face a gruesome death.

The first half of the novel is written as diary entries as Verity slowly recounts the story from the perspective of Kittyhawk and refers to herself in third person. It’s really weird The second half is told from Kittyhawk’s point of view as she tries to disguise herself as a civilian and rescue her friend.

I’ve seen quite a bit of hype around this book. I’ve read several reviews that call it a riveting thriller, emotional and unforgettable page-turner, etc. I very much disagree. I enjoyed the premise and overall storyline, but I didn’t like the execution. It just went too slowly, recounting EVERYTHING. I realize this is necessary because Verity is like a modern-day Scheherazade. I just feel like Wein could have found a better way to do so without being boring.

Now for some of the pros! I did enjoy the plot, as I previously said. I also really liked the characters. There was no real romance in this book, and I really liked the fact that it recognized that a significant other was not needed in the book. Because of this, there were no cliches, which made me very happy.

Overall, I give this book a B-. If any of you have read it, I would love your opinions!

3 Replies to “Code Name Verity by Elizabeth E. Wein Review”

  1. I can’t wait to read this book. I also appreciate your honest review of it. I love reading both positive and negative reviews of books, especially if they’ve really been hyped. We’ll see how I feel about the book soon!

Leave a Reply

