Book Blogger Test Tag

I have another tag! And I was actually legitimately tagged by littleonionwrites. Thank you so much! Alright! I’m gonna get started now.

1. What are your top three book hates?

HOW CAN I CHOOSE? I am admittedly over-judgmental when it comes to books. I’ll kind of cheat and lump several together per number.

1. Cover changes/inconsistency in series. ESPECIALLY WHEN THE ORIGINAL COVERS WERE BETTER. (I’m looking at you, Across the Universe by Beth Revis!) I also hate it when I have some books in a series as paperback and some in hardcover. Did that make sense? Yeah. I wait an extra year or so to buy the paperback edition….

2. Cliches. They are the worst! Do you ever stop to think about who introduced certain overused phrases into the book world? Someone had to be the first one! Anyway, I just think that most authors should know how to formulate original sentences that actually compel me to continue reading.

Sorry for the rant.

3. Painfully slow plot progression. It just infuriates me. A slow book can be due to too much dialogue, an author’s failed attempt at flowery imagery, or just way too much fluffy info.

2. Describe your perfect reading spot.

To be honest, I don’t have one. I can read anywhere as long as it’s comfortable and distraction free. A large and empty library might be nice, but I might get sidetracked reading all the blurbs on the dust jackets of the books.

3. Tell us three book confessions.

1. This is really awkward, but sometimes when I really hate a book, I stop reading it and tell everyone that I finished it. I always feel really guilty, but also eager to cleanse myself of the bad book.

2. I cannot live with books damaged in any way. Even the slightest crease, peel, or nick in a book will piss me off way too much. I don’t lend books out to my family members because I don’t trust them with my precious babies.

3. I have something like 50 unread books sitting on my bookshelf. Still, I go to the library and onto the internet to get more books. It’s really bad.

4. When was the last time you cried while reading a book?

Not sure. I get pretty emotional when I read. I think it was probably while reading We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo last week. This book just gave me so many feels!

20140612-223943-81583690.jpg

5. How many books are on your bedside table?

This one is funny. My bedside table is actually a bookshelf.

20140612-231518-83718647.jpg

The middle shelf contains my highest priority TBR other than my library books.

6. What is your favorite snack to eat while reading?

I don’t always eat when I read, but when I do, it’s whatever I’m in the mood for eating. Sometimes it’s candy. Sometimes chips. Sometimes noodles. You get the point.

7. Name three books you would recommend to anyone.

1. Any of the Harry Potter books. It would be better if you read them in order, but whatever. These books were kind of my gateway into reading. They opened my eyes to happiness and friendship and magic and fantasy, but also to danger and evil and depression. This series does contain symbols that really enrich an already great story. The world is extraordinarily developed without being confusing, something I don’t see very often.

2. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This book blew my mind a little. It’s told from the point of view of Death. How could anyone find this uninteresting? I just love the approach to the story. Zusak finds hope in what is arguably one of the worst periods in history: the Holocaust. I just love this book. I would call it a heartwarming tragedy.

3. I can’t choose a last book! I would recommend that you read at least one dystopian novel or series and really think about the society in the story. I think comparing it to the modern world and analyzing the implications of our actions and how it could possibly lead to a dystopian setting is incredibly important. I believe that books can be valuable beyond the level of entertainment.

That got kinda deep. It’s pretty late. I get weird when I stay up too long….

8. Show us a picture of your favorite shelf on your bookcase.

This is a tough one! I’m gonna pick the second-to-top shelf, which looks like this:

20140612-225926-82766614.jpg

I just think it has the most diverse selection of books. If you are interested to see the rest of my bookshelf, which I hope you are, please click here!

9. Write what books mean to you in three words.

Gaining new perspective. I read to broaden my views on the world. I try to think about what I read. It boosts my happiness and creativity. Thank you, books and authors of books.

10. What is your biggest reading secret?

I already confessed my biggest one about not finishing books. I also choose what to read by the covers way too often! If I see a book with a really awesome cover, I will buy it. In a way, it lets me read more randomly and discover new books. But yeah, that’s kind of embarrassing…

Whew! I’m done with this tag! That was fun. I don’t really know too many people on here, so I can’t tag anyone yet. If you’re interested in doing this challenge, I would love a link! I’m looking forward to the days where I get tagged more often and I tag others often as well.

Happy reading!
-Mariel

4 Replies to “Book Blogger Test Tag”

  1. The book covers changing is probably my biggest pet peeve ever when it comes to books (well, besides damaging the books with dog-earing, etc.) I really hate it when publishers decide to change from paperback to hardback in the middle of a series. We know you’re just doing it to make more money, and I get irritated that I have to wait super long for a paperback copy to match my other copies! End rant 😉

Leave a Reply

